X-mas: the virus of misery

Christmas, the time of year filled with holiday cheer.
I am glad the holiday season is closing to an end. Don’t get me wrong, I like Christmas and all that… in principle.
Getting together with friends and family is great, so great even that I don’t need a special day that forces us to spent ‘quality’ time together. A day that puts so much pressure on everyone that this dat HAS to be a great day, that nuclear disaster is just lurking around the corner.
I don’t mind some of the carols, the more bluesy ones that is. But even these get in the way of general enjoyment of this season and even the predeceasing season with companies starting to spread this holiday cheer months in advance. Without fail the sight of fat Santa  makes me sick within a week and all jingles and carols only nauseate me not long after they start. No wonder with all these Rudulfs and Santa Rocks stuck in my head around late October.
I love Christmas trees (without the tinsel though, whoever thought that up should be shot), but all those presents under the tree? Who made that part of the holiday? Was it the Wise Men from where-ever they’re from, bringing baby Jesus mire and what not? But they didn’t arrive till somewhere in January.
Or was it part of the old light/winter equinox celebration (from which the whole Christmas deal is derived)? Somehow I can’t imagine…. So that must be those big companies again.

What I’m trying to say is, that even though I like Christmas, it often turns me into this stressed out, nihilistic Gringe with  murderous tensions. I feel a strong urge to go and shoot dead every Santa in sight and blast away every jingle or carol in hearing distance to oblivion with angry death metal…

Anyone else who feels the same way? Maybe just a teeny tiny little bit?

About alastor993

artist, Art teacher Interests: Drawing, Painting, Experimental film making, writing, philosophy, motorbikes, sleeping!
This entry was posted in Complaints, Life 'n shit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to X-mas: the virus of misery

  1. Dasha Munnik says:

    Hey Liza,

    Ik snap je wel, al heb ik het hier meer met sinterklaas dan met kerstmis. Ik ben nog wel gecharmeerd van lichtjes door je huis hangen, maar met pepernoten en kinderschoenen in de AH kun je me echt niet behagen. Vooral omdat je in september je al helemaal vol kan proppen met kruidnootjes en marsepein.
    Verder vind ik de kerstdagen tegenwoordig een mengelmoes van emoties. Geen directe familie om mee te vieren, maar wel naar mijn schoonouders. En weer met cadeautjes, terwijl afgesproken was dit jaar niets te doen. En dan idd vrolijk doen, terwijl mijn hoofd daar niet altijd naar staat.
    Een gewoon random etentje op zijn tijd zou ook voldoende moeten zijn, maar met kerst lijkt het vaak een verplicht nummertje. Ook al is het uiteindelijk altijd wel gezellig. En eet je meteen weer voor 3 dagen, dus dat bespaart thuis weer op de kosten.

    Een ding, we hebben toch ook regelmatig wel lol gehad met kerst lampjes en de meest afstekende kerstversiering kopen. Dat kan ik me nog wel herinneren.
    Vraag me dan ook wel af….hoe was jou kerst eigenlijk?

    Dikke knuffel en kus,
    Dasha

    • alastor993 says:

      We hebben zeker plezier gehad met kerst inkopen! Het huis gezellig maken en alles lekker knus, maar hier is kerst echt anders. Niet alleen omdat familie ver weg is maar ook omdat Kerst hier geen deel uit maakt van de cultuur, dus wat hier gebeurd is al dat amirikaanse gedoe, zo overdone. Nou goed.
      Mijn kerst was okay, helaas moest Andy werken… Wel zijn we saampies op kerst avond naar een 5 sterre hotel gegaan voor en nacht, wauw! Eerste kerstdag lekker met de collegas gegeten, was fijn. Verders nie veel. Hoe was jou kerst?

  2. cary, your mother says:

    De mens is net zo intelligent als zijn emoties hem toelaten. En onder emoties valt natuurlijk ook de innerlijke beleving van het Kerstfeest.En het is nog erger. Namelijk volgens Spinoza kan een emotie alleen overwonnen worden door een nog sterkere emotie en door niets anders.
    Ondanks dat ik over deze stelling nog niet geheel mijn licht heb laten schijnen, ben ik bang dat hij gelijk heeft. Heb je goed naar die Kerstman gekeken? Hij stond de hele dag maar wat met die bel van hem rond te zwaaien en daar bovenuit (en hier heeft Spinoza het over) luidkeels “HO HO HO” roepend. En gek, dat was nou precies wat ik dacht.

    • alastor993 says:

      HOHOHO! Niet zo snel, niet zo veel, niet zo duur! Je hebt helemaal gelijk! Al dat gierige gedoe met kadootjes onder het mom van vrijgevigheid vind ik maar misplaatst met kerst. Onze Kerstman (dat ben jij) had het veel beter geregeld, boeken voor plezier en verlichting in de donkere dagen van het jaar!
      Dikke kus!

  3. Meandola says:

    Christmas is an oversensationalized holiday that was originally taken from the germanic people in northern europe who celebrated winter solstice. The church way back when decided to label that as the day Jesus was born and made it “their” holiday and deprived it of all meaning that the germanic people had with the celebration.

    Santa Claus is derived from Saint Nicolaas, which in various countries (Netherlands/Belgium/France) is celebrated as Sinterklaas. He’s a fat guy in a red suit is thanks to Coca Cola (notice how the Coca Cola cans are red/white, exactly like Santa Claus).

    Conclusion, Christmas is a fuckfest of so many origins that by now serves no purpose other than to make the masses consume more products so companies get more money.
    No, don’t argument that it’s the time to be nice to people, because that’s bollocks, you should always try to be nice to people, holidays or no.

Leave a Reply

