Illusions

I was explaining my class about shadow, telling them how light travels (being all happy, because that is just the mood light is always in) and then when it comes to an object hitting it (bang!) creating highlights and shadow since light can not travel through solid objects. I wondered off explaining how the light bounces off the objects, the world, around us and that this bounced off light then enters our eyes, making us see (I had to keep it simple). Talking about this made me, once more, realise that the world around us is nothing short of a light show creating the illusion of… well, of the world.

Beside explaining how shadow and highlights (shadow, core of darkness, cast shadow, highlight, reflected light) works I always tell the students to draw what they see instead of what they think they see. Loosing myself once again, I explained that our eyes don’t see, but that it is our brain that sees, it is our brain that interprets the images sent through by our eyes. So shut down you brain and observe!
I had to stop there, for the world seemed too much of nothing but reflected light illusions…

About alastor993

artist, Art teacher Interests: Drawing, Painting, Experimental film making, writing, philosophy, motorbikes, sleeping!
This entry was posted in Complaints, Life 'n shit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

