Flying goodbyes

The day is finally there and I still don’t feel nervous, this in turn makes me worry just a bit.

I thought of everything and took care of everything I could take care of.
My mother and brother accompanied me to the airport, with the tram and then the train it took approximately an hour to get there.
We where three hours early, which gave me plenty enough time to check in and drop my baggage off after having it sealed. With that out of the way we took our time to smoke cigarettes, drink coffee and chat. Dasha and Ivo came to see me off as well.
When it was finally time to go I felt so strange, uncomfortable even. How can I say farewell to these people for a year? I felt so sad and so excited at the same time.
It all went so very fast and I wanted to make it last at that moment, while in the weeks past I wanted time to go faster. But even though time is a human invention, it goes by in it’s own pace and you don’t have to do anything for it to go.
So it went and I’m on the plane now…

My writing is terrible at the moment. All I want is sleep, I am tired and am not looking forward to a jet-lag to make me feel worse. But the sleep won’t come. Three and a half hours into the flight and I feel like I’m in a cage. The food was good except for the desert which was too sweet for my taste. With my tea I asked a bit of brandy, in the hope it would help me sleep, instead I’m writing this while my eyes are burning and I can’t stop yawning. I guess it wouldn’t be so bad if I where alone, the atmosphere is very restless in the plane. Or maybe it’s the noise of the plane itself, no matter how loud I put on my music it’s constantly there. Or it’s that there is no possibility to lay down, all though I’m usually able to sleep sitting up. I can’t count the times I fell asleep in the train, waking up not knowing where I am and after realizing being very grateful that my stop is always the last station…
More probable is that excitement and hidden nerves are keeping me from sleep….
Well, I’ll give it another try…

Edit:Ā Eventually I slept for two or three hours, not comfortably or long enough…

About alastor993

artist, Art teacher Interests: Drawing, Painting, Experimental film making, writing, philosophy, motorbikes, sleeping!
This entry was posted in Life 'n shit, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flying goodbyes

  1. Leia Babbs says:

    Uncovered your blog via live search the other day and absolutely love it. Carry on the truly great work.

Leave a Reply

